Kat Von D Shade and Light Eye Contour Palette

Hi I’m Yaminn and I’m addicted to Kat Von D products…

I adore them all. They’re not exactly the most affordable thing in Australia, but the price range tends to sit on the lower side for “high-end” products. If you did not know, I am an avid user of KVD’s tattoo eyeliner and her liquid lipsticks. Heck, I’ve probably bought more of her eyeliners than I’m proud to admit. I thought it was about time to step up my eyeshadow game so I looked no further than KVD.

IMG_8555

If you’re in the market for a high-end all matte eyeshadow palette, you’ve got choices like the Tarte Amazonian Clay Eyeshadow Palette, but the often come at a hefty price of $70 or more. Not much better, but a bigger bang-for-your-buck, sits the KVD Shade + Light Eye Contour Palette at $64AUD from Sephora. Yes, I know, a whopping $64, but to be fair, with this palette you get a total of 12 colours and an even mix of neutral, cool and warm colours.

Now let’s get into it. The palette is broken into three sections – neutral, cool and warm – all of which are matte and flatter all skintones. This palette is a wonderful addition I strongly believe you should add to your collection. Again, there are 12 colours, 3 of which are 2.3g and 9 1.1g pans. The three base shadows are arranged into coordinating powders for contouring, defining and highlighting. Don’t worry if you’re a little overwhelmed! The palette comes with a step by step guide for creating six different looks. The shadows last all day with a primer and give a rich, velvety and buildable colour.

IMG_85731

IMG_8557

Not pictured are the 3 base colours (from left to right): laetus, lazarus and ludwin.

I’ve played round with this bad boy for around a month or two now and I have to say, I really do love it. My favourite colour is Lucius – a warm red brown.  As for application, I first prime my eyes and then add on the eyeshadows and it lasts anywhere from 8 to 12 hours. I only have 2 issues with the palette but other than that, it’s generally perfect. One issue is that perhaps after 4 or 5 hours wear, the colours tend to fade out. However, this can be combatted with a good primer or slightly wetting your brush before use. Secondly, the fall-out. When you use the product, it gathers and feathers all over the packaging. Not sure if it’s because I love the product so much and go crazy when using it… but I always find myself being careful when getting out product.

All in all, it’s a great product that wears beautifully,will last me a long time and I would also definitely repurchase it.

2 thoughts on “Kat Von D Shade and Light Eye Contour Palette

Leave a comment